New leaders for U.S. Postal Service board


A little leadership shuffle is under way at the U.S. Postal Service’s Board of Governors, as Thurgood Marshall Jr., the current vice-chairman, was elected chairman at Tuesday’s meeting, according to a news release. Marshall is replacing Louis Giuliano, who has chaired the board since January 2010 and will remain a member. Taking Marshall’s slot as vice chairman is Mickey Barnett.  The two men assume their new roles at the next board meeting in December. Both were elected unanimously, a Postal Service spokesman said.

Marshall is a Washington lawyer. Although he worked in the White House during the Clinton administration, he was named to the board by then-President George W. Bush in 2006. Barnett, another Bush appointee, is a lawyer and former New Mexico state senator who has also served on the board since 2006.



About Author

Leave A Reply