Senate reaches deal for voting on amendments to postal bill


Looks like the Senate’s going to be very busy next Tuesday with rapid-fire voting on more than three dozen amendments to S. 1789, the postal overhaul legislation. According to a message this evening from the office of Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid, D-Nev., the amendments pertain to everything from post office closings to unions to compensation for U.S. Postal Service executives.

There’s also one from Sen. Tom Coburn, R-Okla., that would require more reporting by government agencies on conference spending. (Hmm–FedLine can’t imagine what prompted that.) Anyway, for the hard-core postal aficionados out there (and in the interest of open government), here’s the portion of Reid’s email that lists the amendents set for a vote:

“- McCain #2001 (substitute);

– Tester #2056 (modify process for closing facilities);

– Coburn #2060 (government sponsored conferences)**;

– McCain #2033 (Reorganization Commission);

– Wyden-Feinstein #2020 (vote by mail)**;

– Coburn #2058 (access to postal facilities)**;

– McCaskill-Merkley #2031 (rural post offices) ;

– Coburn #2061 (retirement);

– Snowe #2080** (3rd party study closings);

– Udall (NM) #2043 (six day delivery);

– Durbin #2082 (to protect efficient processing facilities)**;

– Akaka #2034, with a modification agreed to by both managers (workers compensation);

-Bennet-Blunt #2047 (protection advocate)**;

– Corker #2083 (frequency of mail delivery) ;

– Mikulski #2003 (Governor certification)**;

– Akaka #2049, ** (managerial organizations);

– Paul #2025 (end mailbox use monopoly);

– Manchin #2079 (extend moratorium on closings);

– Paul #2026 (performance based bonuses)**;

– Bingaman #2076 (state liaisons)**;

– Paul #2027 (capitol complex);

– Cardin #2040 (50 mile limit)**;

– Paul #2028 (alternative methods pilot program);

– Carper #2065 (stamp rate authority);

– Paul #2029 (profitability plan)**;

– Carper #2066 (executive compensation);

– Paul #2039 (prohibit collective bargaining);

– Casey #2042 (delivery time);

– Paul #2038 (first class mail and mailbox use);

– Landrieu #2072 (impact on small businesses)**;

– DeMint #2046 (unions);

– McCaskill #2030 compensation reforms)**;

– Coburn #2059 (close unprofitable facilities);

– Pryor #2036 (SoS re: closing and consolidation)**;

– Rockefeller #2073 (Medicare coordination)**;

– Rockefeller #2074 (health benefits program)**;

– Schumer #2050 (delivery point services);

– Tester #2032 (executive pay)**;

– Warner #2071, with modification to be agreed to by two Managers (OPM retirement implementation plan).

On Tuesday, April 24th at a time to be determined by the Majority Leader, after consultation with the Republican Leader (likely following the 2:15pm vote in relation to S.J.Res.236), the Senate will vote in relation to the amendments in the order listed, with two minutes equally divided in the usual form between the votes. All votes after the first vote will be 10 minutes in duration. The amendments are subject to a 60 affirmative vote threshold. No other amendments are in order to the bill or the substitute. No points of order or motions are in order to any of these amendments, the substitute amendment, or the bill other than budget points of order and the applicable motions to waive.

Upon disposition of the amendments, the substitute amendment, as amended, if amended, will be agreed to. The bill, as amended, will be read a third time and the Senate will proceed to a vote on passage of the bill, as amended. Finally, the vote on passage of the bill is subject to a 60 affirmative vote threshold.

** indicates the amendments we would like to consider by voice vote.”


About Author

Leave A Reply